Vocabulary Final Exam

Every student will have American Studies English on Monday, June 5th and will take the final vocabulary exam on that day. The exam will be timed; at the end of 70 minutes, you must turn in your test, whether you are completely done or not (unless you have made necessary prior arrangements with me).

Begin studying immediately. Study progressively; review a little bit every day.

Know everything — word, part(s) of speech, definition, synonyms, antonyms, spelling, and even pronunciation. If you’re not sure about any of these things, please ask!

Please ask if you have any questions.

All word lists can be found on the Vocabulary page. Please share study tools with one another!

ff5aa2ec4d25e009560233e4879df644_vocabulary-memes-memesuper-vocab-quiz-meme_500-486.jpeg

Omg, this is awesome…

Check this out right now! audiobooksync.com

This program offers two free audiobook downloads per week all summer long! This week’s books are both AWESOME and perfect for fans of Ready Player One, sci-fi, dystopia, and — humor!

Check out the program and download Feed and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. They are both among my favorite books of all time. Feed is amazing, and Hitchhiker’s Guide is super funny, too — they’re both perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy and Ready Player One.

Audiobooks absolutely count toward your 40 Book Challenge!

You need the Overdrive app on your laptop or device.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 10.34.13 AM.png

Check your learning targets progress reports!

Your learning targets progress reports are updated. If you are missing any work, you have until Wednesday, May 10 to submit it. After that date, it will be a zero in your target scores. You do not want that.

If you intend to reassess work, follow the same process we’ve had in place all year long. Reassessments must be submitted on Wednesday, May 10.

Reassessment forms can be found in my classroom in the same place they’ve been since the beginning of the year.

Power Passages!

Here are the Power Passages you chose from To Kill a Mockingbird:

  • Page 33
  • Page 103
  • Pages 109-112
  • Page 128
  • Page 175
  • Page 221
  • Page 228
  • Pages 232-233
  • Pages 269-270
  • Pages 322-323

We will be closely reading and analyzing these passages together over the next several days. To prepare to do so, you may want to mark them in your book and even reread them, looking for signposts! Remember, the signposts are…

  • Contrasts and Contradictions — Why is the character doing that?
  • Aha Moment — How might this change things?
  • Tough Questions — What does this question make ME wonder about?
  • Words of the Wiser — What’s the life lesson and how might it affect the character?
  • Again and Again — Why does this keep happening or coming up?
  • Memory Moment — Why might this memory be important?

For more help with signposts, see Notice and Note on the Reading page!